Blogs · Disney

Walt Disney World – Saving and Researching

Now I was very lucky to be able to go to Walt Disney World back in 2001 when money wasn’t a problem and I’ve wanted to go back ever since.

My dream holiday for me and Jenson has always been Walt Disney World from the moment I took him to Disneyland Paris and saw how much he loved it, I knew that one day I would need to make it happen. So when we started to discuss it as a family over the years and this was long before I had Jenson, it became exciting that our dream family holiday would happen one day but nothing ever did and life of course happens, it also came to the point that my sister couldn’t wait any longer and went last year with her bf instead. When she came back thou and spoke about what an amazing time they had, she relit the idea and the excitement in us all and finally back in March we sat down as a family and throw ideas at each other about where to stay, what year to go and how we was all going to save for it cause let’s be real it’s very expensive to go especially if you want to stay in Disney for two weeks for anyone of us.

We finally made real plans at this meeting, we’ve all decided if we’re going to do it we will be staying in Disney for two weeks instead of a villa and that evening my brother set up a savings account that every month we all now pay into so the money is set aside ready to pay for the holiday and the final goal is the school easter holidays 2021.

Now the reality of the situation is I have been saving every month but I will not deny it’s extremely tough because it isn’t a small amount of money that I’m having to save every month and it’s taking me a long time to adjust to not having that spare cash to do what I want with it. It’s stopped me buying stuff, for example I went to Primark the other day and I only brought what I went in for and it didn’t include anything Disney. I cannot make random orders on the Disney store anymore and have to now save up some money every month to place an order cause I begrudge paying for the delivery when I know if I do an order every couple of months to get my Mickey Memories Mugs and a couple of other pieces I want than I don’t have to.

Even this may have to stop and it will be an order even month just for the Mickey Memories mugs including delivery because I’m also trying to pay off some bills and do bits to my home at the same time.

Now the money I’m saving every month is being done in two parts so I pay a small amount into the savings account my brother set up and the rest is being saved in a government savings account called ‘Help to Save’ which is fantastic. It’s a four year savings account that I can save up to £50 a month and by doing so they give me a bonus every month which gets paid out every two years so my parents have very kindly offered to get me to sign a loan agreement with them to loan me the money as we’re obviously going to go before the account finishes and it means I’ll get the maximum bonus from the account meaning I have enough money with the other money I’m saving to go.

It’s now already 4 months in and we have another 30 months to go before we will get on the airplane and fly there but this has not stopped me pricing the holiday up, looking at the the different offers that appear and buying a few books to read (I have a few more I would like to buy too), I’m currently reading ‘The Wonders of Walt Disney World’ and I’m really enjoying this book a lot.

It’s taking me quite a while to read it because normally I would read a book quite quickly and also read in the evenings but love island has taken them over and it’s hard to find spare moments in the day plus because it’s not a normal novel, it’s I suppose research I’m making sure I take everything in and finding out about the different parks and also about different places/restaurants that everyone doesn’t always seem to mention. The thing I love the most about this book thou is it tells you about the history behind the places your going to see, where there are some of the hidden Mickeys and it’s written as a walk around the park so your not jumping from area to area.

The reason I’m researching already is because one of the plans from our meeting is to have an itinerary when we go as there is so many of us and all of us of course will want to see and do different things. The plan is sit down and chat a few months before we go and work out the best things to do each day, what restaurants we all want to eat in and what days we’re going to have apart because I know for example my sister wants to go down to Miami for the day whereas I want to make the most of Disney and tick everything off mine and Jenson’s list that we want to do.

I would really love it if anyone has any advice about Walt Disney World to message me or has any books they would recommend to read because I want to be fully prepared when we go and I want to make the most of the magic when we’re there.

Laura x

Leave a comment